ARA Logo-06-vFR.png
Bombardier logo
Logo_CMC_Électronique_cmyk.png

FLYING LABORATORY (PM1)

The Flying Laboratory — Phase 2 project is the result of a collaboration between the companies ARA Robotics, Bombardier and CMC Electronics resulting from phase 1 of the Flying Laboratory project. The project consists of developing a drone platform for a single pilot, autonomous or ground station assisted aerial systems; using aerodynamically advanced scaled down flight test vehicles and developing cockpits and avionics systems to test new technologies.  

Drone Platform  

ARA Robotics will continue the development activities of the drone platform by adapting communication and control technologies, autonomous navigation, infrastructure, and aerial data capture platform. It will also contribute to the development of the ground station and the integration of ARA-CMC technology. With the help of Bombardier and CMC, ARA will contribute to the evolution of several obstacle detection and landing site assessment modules applicable to mining and infrastructure construction. This optimization and prediction software will help advance advanced aircraft architectures.  

Scaled-Down Flight Test Vehicles  

Bombardier is building on the achievements of the first phase of the Flying Lab project, with a second phase focused on the improvement and use of small-scale flight test vehicles to evaluate advanced aerodynamic shapes for GHG emission reduction. Complementary technology building blocks necessary to achieve GHG emission reduction goals will be developed: a technology simulator will be commissioned, providing a test environment for the demonstration of next-generation integrated aircraft control systems, and an engineering tool development cycle will be completed. The project makes extensive use of a network of SMEs in Quebec for the scale models and provides numerous learning opportunities for students. 

Cockpits and Avionics Systems 

CMC will continue to evolve ground-based cockpit applications (new interfaces), navigation and positioning functions and technologies to make aircraft more autonomous. For example, sensors, processors, and software will be developed for landing, avoidance, and obstacle detection solutions.  

In conclusion 

The development of the drone platform, the scaled-down flight test vehicles and the cockpits and avionics systems will allow the creation of new technologies related to the automation and autonomy of aircraft that will be beneficial to both the Quebec drone sector and to aeronautics more globally, notably by improving the ecological footprint.

ARA Logo-06-vFR.png
Bombardier logo
Logo_CMC_Électronique_cmyk.png

LABORATOIRE VOLANT (PM1)

Le projet Laboratoire volant – Phase 2 est le fruit d’une collaboration entre les entreprises ARA Robotique, Bombardier et CMC Electronics issue de la phase 1 du projet Laboratoire volant. Le projet consiste à développer une plateforme drone pour les systèmes aériens à un seul pilote, autonomes ou avec l’aide d’une station au sol ; d’utiliser les véhicules de test en vol à échelle réduite de forme aérodynamique avancée et de développer des postes de pilotage et systèmes avioniques permettant de tester de nouvelles technologies.  

Plateforme drone  

ARA Robotique poursuivra les activités de développement de la plateforme drone en adaptant des technologies de communication et de contrôle, de navigation autonome, d’infrastructure et de plateforme de capture de données aériennes. Elle contribuera aussi au développement de la station au sol et à l’intégration de la technologie ARA-CMC. Avec l’aide de Bombardier et CMC, ARA contribuera à faire évoluer plusieurs modules de détection d’obstacles et d’évaluation de sites d’atterrissages applicables aux mines et à la construction d’infrastructures. Ces logiciels d’optimisation et de prédiction aideront à la progression des architectures avancées d’avions. 

 

Véhicules de test en vol à échelle réduite  

Bombardier construit sur les acquis de la première phase du projet Laboratoire volant, avec une deuxième phase centrée sur l’amélioration et l’utilisation de véhicules de test en vol à échelle réduite pour évaluer des formes aérodynamiques avancées pour la réduction d’émission de GES. Des briques technologiques complémentaires et nécessaires à l’atteinte d’objectifs de réduction d’émissions de GES seront développées : un simulateur de technologie sera mis en service, fournissant un environnement de tests pour la démonstration de la prochaine génération des systèmes intégrés de contrôle d’avion et un cycle de développement d’outils d’ingénierie sera complété. Le projet fait largement appel à un réseau de PME au Québec pour les modèles réduits, et offre de nombreuses opportunités d’apprentissage à des étudiants. 

Postes de pilotage et systèmes avioniques 

CMC continuera à faire évoluer des applications pour le poste de pilotage au sol (nouvelles interfaces), des fonctions de navigation et de positionnement et des technologies pour rendre les appareils plus autonomes. Par exemple, des capteurs, des processeurs et des logiciels seront développés pour les solutions d’atterrissage, d’évitement et de détection d’obstacles.  

En conclusion 

Le développement de la plateforme drone, les véhicules de test en vol à échelle réduite et des postes de pilotage et systèmes avioniques permettront de créer de nouvelles technologies relatives à l’automatisation et à l’autonomie d’aéronefs qui seront bénéfiques tant pour le secteur québécois des drones que pour l’aéronautique plus globalement, notamment en améliorant l’empreinte écologique.