P&W.jpg

ELECTRIFICATION OF PROPULSION SYSTEMS (PM2)

This project is a collaboration between Flying Whales Quebec and Pratt & Whitney Canada (P&WC) for the electrification of aeronautical propulsion systems. Flying Whales is developing LCA60T (Large Capacity Airship 60 Tons) airships for heavy lift. With the development of a 1 MW turbogenerator, the objective is to equip aircraft with electric propulsion to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The LCA60T is an airship that will benefit several sectors that need to transport very heavy loads, such as forestry, electrical and renewable energy industries.   

Mobilizing Project 

Flying Whales Québec and P&WC will design, optimize, and prototype an integrated high-power turbine generator system for airships appropriate for hybrid propulsion systems with distributed electric propulsion. The Flying Whales Quebec team will then integrate the power generation system into the airship’s nacelles and systems, and the turbogenerator will be operated in an environment representative of which it will operate in. The P&WC test bench will be modified to reduce the risks associated with future ground testing and flight testing of the turbine generator system.   

To assemble and operate the LCA60T airships in America, an assembly plant will be built in Quebec by Flying Whales Quebec to produce up to 12 LCA60Ts per year, generating significant regional economic benefits. Furthermore, through the development of these new technologies aimed at minimizing the environmental footprint, Flying Whales Quebec and P&WC will be able to potentially integrate these technologies on other platforms in Quebec and in all North and South American markets.

P&W.jpg

ÉLECTRIFICATION DES SYSTÈMES DE PROPULSION (PM2) 

 

Ce projet est une collaboration entre Flying Whales Québec et Pratt & Whitney Canada (P&WC) pour l’électrification des systèmes de propulsion en aéronautique. Flying Whales développe des dirigeables pour le transport de charges lourdes LCA60T (Large Capacity Airship 60 Tons). Avec la mise au point d’un turbogénérateur de 1 MW, l’objectif est d’équiper des aéronefs en propulsion électrique afin de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Le LCA60T est un dirigeable qui profitera à plusieurs secteurs devant transporter des charges très lourdes, telles l’industrie forestière, électrique et celle des énergies renouvelables.  

 

Projet mobilisateur  

Flying Whales Québec et P&WC réaliseront la conception, l’optimisation et le prototype d’un système turbogénérateur à haute puissance intégré pour dirigeables qui sera applicable à des systèmes de propulsion hybride à propulsion électrique distribuée. L’équipe de Flying Whales Québec intègrera ensuite le système de génération de puissance dans les nacelles et dans le système du dirigeable, et le turbogénérateur sera utilisé dans un environnement représentatif de la réalité dans lequel il évoluera. Le banc d’essai de P&WC sera modifié afin de réduire les risques associés aux futurs essais au sol et à la mise en vol du système turbogénérateur.  

 

Afin d’assembler et opérer les dirigeables LCA60T en Amérique, une usine d’assemblage sera bâtie au Québec par Flying Whales Québec afin de produire jusqu’à 12 LCA60T par année, générant des retombées économiques régionales importantes. Par ailleurs, grâce au développement de ces nouvelles technologies visant à minimiser l’empreinte environnementale, Flying Whales Québec et P&WC pourront potentiellement intégrer ces technologies sur d’autres plateformes, au Québec et à l’ensemble des marchés Nord et Sud-Américains.